NaNoWriMo For Beginners

I’ve known about NaNoWriMo for a while now but this is the first time I’m actually participating. I can tell you that these first few days have been brutal. I thought I could push out the 1667 words per day challenge like a pro. NOT!! It was a chore the first day to get over 500 words on the page and I know where I want to go with my story. Geeezzz! Anyway, Kris Noel has some great advice for the first time NaNoWriMo participant. Happy Writing!

 

 ADVICE FOR FIRST TIME NANOWRIMOS

I’ll be covering a variety of topics for NaNoWriMo, but it seems like a lot of people want to know how to approach their first time writing a novel in a month. It can be scary and it might feel like an impossible task, but I’ll try to help in any way I can!

First, let’s talk about what NaNoWriMo is. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month and it takes place in November (there are other versions of NaNoWriMo, but this is the big one). First time writers, seasoned professionals, and everyone in between, attempt to write the first draft, or no-draft as I like to call it, in a single month. The goal is 50,000 words. That means that usually a lot of planning has to go into it a few weeks before.

Here’s some advice that I hope will help first time NaNowriMos get started:

Outlines are important

I know some of you might not like writing outlines because you feel it restricts you creatively, but it’s a fairly important step for NaNoWriMo. You only have a month to write, so you better have some idea what you’re writing. Start off with the general plot and your characters and go from there. Having an outline will help you stay on track and will keep writer’s block at bay. Read more here!

