The Business of Rewriting

Everytime I complete a story I am always very excited. My story finally has a beginning, middle and end. It may not be perfect but the sticky note idea is now officially a story. I generally let it rest for a few days or longer. When I pick it up again I have to start the rewriting process. Most writers must do this. Its never fun. Aurthor Karen Woodward shares with writers the process of rewriting and what could happen.

Rewriting Is The Essence Of Good Writing

We’ve all heard the sayings:
“Rewriting is the essence of writing,” William Zinsser
“The best writing is rewriting,” E.B. White
“All writing is rewriting,” John Green
I agree wholeheartedly. I believe that rewriting is the essence of good writing. I also believe rewriting is a skill that, like any skill, takes time and much practice to acquire.
But I know some folks won’t agree with me, so let’s look at a few of their arguments.

Rewriting Can Strip A Story Of Soul

This can happen. Beginning writers do have the tendency to edit the soul out of their stories. I know I did.
When I first began writing, rewriting was NOT my friend. I recently dug some of my earliest stories out from the shoeboxes I’ve lovingly interred them in. I write in drafts, always have, saving versions 1 to … well, to however high it goes.  READ MORE HERE!
By Kristi Bernard Posted in Writers