Rejuvenating The Writing Process

A picture about the spring.

A picture about the spring. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Spring, for me, usually brings to mind new ideas and ways to bring my manuscripts to life. Every year I give myself the first three months to figure out what I want to do with my writing projects. This year, I plan to rejuvenate, renew and grow my writing to it’s fullest potential. Of course, this is easier said than done, but I have a plan.

I read an article recently that offered tips on how to really look at your articles before they are submitted, and also how to keep pushing them back out the door even if they were rejected. I have a lot of articles that need polishing, but because I get distracted and start other projects that come to mind, some of those articles don’t get finished. Sue Bradford Edwards’ article  “Revision Rework Rewrite” provides excellent tips on how to get this process under control.

My plan to rejuvenate my writing process starts with:

Organizing my articles into categories. I will decide if they are  ideas for school projects, seasonal, parenting and so on. I actually have articles stashed away on these categories. My fear of rejection is keeping me from sending them out.

Researching non-fiction topics I want to write about. I really want to put together a manuscript for animal fur and it’s purpose. It may sound lame and not very interesting but I really want to learn more about it. So, I will make it happen. Isn’t that the purpose of being a writer? Sharing information is what writers do., right?

Polishing up old articles and manuscripts. I have manuscripts that are so close to being done and I really like the stories. I am ashamed to say I have not completed so many of them. But, I plan to resolve this issue by revisiting, rewriting and rejuvenating those projects this year. Once I polish up my articles I am going to submit them to the proper market magazines.

I am sure there is a lot more for me to do, but for now I feel this is a good start. If I get overwhelmed with a long list I may not finish anything and I will be right back to square one. So, for now, I am going to take baby steps even though the list above is going to be a task. As of this moment, I am ready to rejuvenate my writing process.

Does your writing process need rejuvenating?

One comment on “Rejuvenating The Writing Process

  1. Pingback: Revision and Rewriting – Where Talent Meets Effort or The Rubber Hits the Road | Martina Newhook

Comments are closed.