Are You Writing For The Long Haul?

As writers we often consider whether or not we want to be in this writing process for the long haul. I have been writing a long time and want to write for children. So, everyday I write and everyday I try to learn more about the craft of writing. I plan to be in it for the long haul because I have a desire to write. Whether or not I ever win an award for my writing is not what is important. For me it’s simply the need to write and have fun while doing it. Over at Write Of Passage, they list some interesting concepts in regards to writing and what things you need to consider.

tHE wrItiNg oN tHE wAll...

tHE wrItiNg oN tHE wAll… (Photo credit: poonomo)

Long-Haul Writing Career: What It Takes To Succeed

We all want to be excellent writers, don’t we? We really don’t want to be mediocre. That doesn’t mean we have to write Pulitzer-Prize-winning prose, and it doesn’t mean that one genre is better than another. It does mean we want to be professional and better than work-a-day in our skill set and our skill level. Almost nobody starts off being excellent. As James Scott Bell, a great writing teacher, speaker, and prolific writer himself, points out, talent is necessary, but it’s the least important of the skills required to become a successful writer. We can learn what we need to know. Read more here.

2 comments on “Are You Writing For The Long Haul?

  1. I’m in it for the long haul as long as it’s fun. When it stops being fun, I’ll move on to something else . . . but I can’t ever picture that happening! God plants desires and gifts in us for a reason~Cheers!

    Like

Comments are closed.