Author Exposed: Leigh Legere

I love it when I can feature a local author here at The Neophyte Writer! I am proud and pleased to share a wonderful children’s author who has written a Christian based book for young readers.  Her version of Noah’s Ark is silly, quirky and so much fun. I am giving away this book at Kristi’s Book Nook where you can also learn more about author Leigh Legere.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TNW: How long have you been writing?

LL: I started writing in high school and decided to major in journalism in college.

TNW: Have you always written for children?

LL: I was focused on newspaper writing and then public relations until I had kids, and that’s when I became interested in children’s books.

TNW: What drives and motivates your writing?

LL: My boys, Chase and Miles.

TNW: Do you feel it’s important for writers to use social media? How?

LL: I think it is a great way to promote any business.  I’m not on Facebook but I am on twitter.

TNW: Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

LL: My father introduced me to Edgar Allen Poe when I was around 5 years old – not exactly your typical bedroom stories but I loved them.  I like Willa Cather, she captured the Midwestern heart, and Jane Austen, she was way ahead of her time.

TNW: What writing books would you recommend to new writers?

LL: I recommend Writing for Children & Teenagers by Lee Wyndham.

TNW: What advice do you have for new writers?

LL: I always tell new writers to write down everything, even if it’s just jotting down notes in a spiral notebook…you never know where an idea will bloom.

TNW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

LL: That’s a hard question right now since I’m switching gears from stay-at-home mom to empty nester.  I hope to publish another book in the next few years.

Leigh is a graduate of Colby Community college and Fort Hays State University, both in Kansas. she is a Jazzercise instructor and lives in Overland Park with her husband and two sons.

Thanks so much Leigh for sharing your writing experience with us.

One comment on “Author Exposed: Leigh Legere

Comments are closed.