Author Exposed: Kathryn Kessler

The Neophyte Writer is proud to present Canadian author Kathryn Kessler. She enjoys her pets and love to share the adventure with kids in her writing and creating.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TNW: How long have you been writing?

 KK: I have been writing since 2006

 TNW: Have you always written for children?

 KK: Yes

TNW: What drives and motivates your writing?

 KK: When I was a child, I enjoyed creating stories while I played with my many pets growing up on the farm. I rediscovered that joy when I brought home my little black and white puppy, Marvin in 2006. He has such a ferocious curiosity for his world around him, that it struck my creativity.

 TNW: Do you feel that it’s important for writers to use social media? How?

 KK: Yes, very important. In this day and age of Twitter, FaceBook, LinkedIn, Google+, etc, social media is the way to get noticed, to get known, to prove yourself and your value to the world.

 TNW: Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

 KK: There are many authors I enjoy. “Charlotte’s Web” by E. B. White, is one book I really enjoyed reading. I can still relate with Fern and her love for Wilbur. Another book I really enjoyed as a child is “James and the Giant Peach” by Roald Dahl. This book took my imagination for an adventure.

 TNW: What writing books would you recommend to new writers?

 KK: I really don’t have a recommendation. I started on my own and did allot of research on the Internet. There are allot of great sites and blogs that can guide new writers.

 TNW: What advice to you have for new writers?

 KK: Write what you are passionate about, believe in yourself and never give up on your passion!

 TNW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

KK: Sitting in a school library, somewhere, reading one of my books to students and their parents and teachers, sharing my passion.

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing with us Kathryn. To learn more about Kathryn and her projects please stop by Kristi’s Book Nook or visit her site at http://www.marvindiscovers.com.

