Author Exposed: Gina LoBiondo

Please welcome author Gina LoBiondo! She has stopped by to share her wonderful story and some writing tips.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TNW: How long have you been writing?

GL: 38 years, 9 months. I started on 28th October, 1973 when I was 13.

TNW: Have you always written for children?

GL: No, I’ve written in all different genres including science fiction, biographies, poetry, etc.

TNW: What drives and motivates your writing?

GL: It starts with a good story idea and a strong desire to put it on paper. 

TNW: Do you feel it’s important for writers to use social media? How?

GLI, personally, have 2 Facebook pages, one for my PEGASUS book and the other for my company Nephthys Publications. I’m also on Twitter (though not as much) and now LinkedIn. Oh, yeah, and Google +! I think it is important for writers to use social media because I’ve met and connected with other writers through the groups I’m in and we all share ideas for promoting our works. This is a valuable tool for any writer.

TNW: Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

GL: Sarah Baker (a friend and fellow silent film lover), Ann Crispin (sci-fi author and friend for many years), Robin McKinley (brilliant fantasy writer), Ann Rice, Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury (great imagination), Anne McCaffrey, Barbara Hambly, Wendy Pini, Susan Kay (brilliant fiction writer), J. K. Rowling, William Shatner (brilliant author and a great sense of humour), Frank Herbert (loved the DUNE books), Arthur C. Clark, Frederick Forsyth (loved THE PHANTOM OF MANHATTAN), Robert K. Klepper (dear friend and fellow silent film lover), Eve Golden, Connie Billips (friend and fellow silent film lover), Arthur Pierce and Lloyd Alexander (dear, dear friend and fellow children’s book writer).

TNW: What writing books would you recommend to new writers?

GL: I don’t know as I’ve never read them. I just happened to start on my own and read voraciously to learn my craft.

TNW: What advice do you have for new writers?

GL: Keep writing and don’t stop! Never give up!

TNW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

GL: Being a successful author/publisher…and maybe being as rich as J.K. Rowling and living in the South of France! LOL!

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing with us Gina.  To learn more about Gina please stop by Kristi’s Book Nook, where you can participate in a book giveaway of “Pegasus.”

Check out her personal website at www.ginalobiondo.com as well as the illustrator’s site at www.stephaniezuppo.com.

