Have You Considered Ghostwriting?

It's a ghost!

It’s a ghost! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Writing is fun. We writers get excited when we finish a project that has our name on it. We can proudly walk around boasting about our book. We can’t wait to tell everyone about it. Some writers are even considered celebrities. But what about ghostwriters? There is only gratification that the project is complete. There is no recognition and  the ghostwriter can’t really tell anyone that they wrote the project. The upside to ghostwriting is that there is money to be made. Lots of celebrities, politicians, and just regular folks have a story to tell that they can’t write themselves. If you are interested in ghostwriting I visited a blog that shares some great “how to” advice on how to find a project. Kelly James-Enger at Dollars and Deadlines offers some great tips to get you started.

Become a Ghostwriter: What you Need to Get Started

Last week, I spoke at the Professional Outdoor Media Association on two topics–self-publishing options (which I’ll post about soon) and ghostwriting. Afterwards, a POMA member came up to me and told me he was a longtime freelancer.
“Great session,” he said. “I hadn’t thought about ghostwriting, but I realized that by writing for so many publications, I’ve gotten good at capturing different voices. I think I’d be good at it.” I agreed, gave him some tips, and sent him on his way.

What about you? Have you thought about becoming a ghostwriter? No? I’m not surprised–for if you’re like most freelancers, you love seeing your name in print or pixels.
I know that I never intended to become a ghostwriter. After all, why would I spend months of my life toiling away on someone else’s book? No thanks. I only wanted to write my own books, and that’s what I did.
I soon found, however, that the life of a book author wasn’t quite what I’d envisioned. I was working long hours, yet making less money than I had before, when I wrote only articles. The reason was simple—the time I spent promoting my books left me less time to write articles and other books, which cut into my income. After a successful collaboration with a nutrition expert, I decided to focus more on writing “other people’s books.”
            You probably know that many celebrities and politicians use ghostwriters to pen their books. What you probably don’t know is that most authors who hire ghostwriters aren’t household names. Instead they’re professionals (think physicians, attorneys,financial advisors) who want to add “book author” to their CVs to attract clients and establish themselves as subject matter experts—but they lack the time and/or ability to write a book. They’re willing to pay, and often pay well, to get “their” books in print. Read more here.
