Author Exposed: C. J. Carter

As a writer I am often looking for new topics and ideas to write about. I make sure to get out of my comfort zone and seek out interesting people and places. My guest author  is Carol Carter. She hadn’t planned on writing a book about drag racing until she got out of her comfort zone and asked a professional drag racer to tell her what it’s like to travel a quarter of a mile in seven seconds at 200 miles per hour.  Carol has stopped by to tell us about her writing journey.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TNW: How long have you been writing?

CJ: I majored in journalism at the University of Missouri, so I’ve been writing since forever. I’ve worked for magazines and newspapers my entire career, plus I’ve written a couple nonfiction books.

TNW: Have you always written for children?

CJ: “Junior Dragster Dreams” is my first novel and so also my first children’s novel though I did write plays for fifth graders during a brief period when I taught school.

TNW: What drives and motivates your writing?

CJ: If I’m “into” the story, then that drives and motivates me. That makes it fun.

TNW: Do you feel it’s important for writers to use social media?

CJ: I think the jury is still out on how helpful social media is, but I certainly use it for promoting my book. I write a blog nearly every day, I have a Facebook page for my book, and I Tweet.

TNW: Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

CJ: Hands-down fave: Tom Robbins. He makes me laugh.

TNW: What writing books would you recommend to new writers?

CJ: Anne Lamott’s “Bird by Bird.”

What advice do you have for new writers?

CJ: The best way to learn to write is to write. (And rewrite.)

TNW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

CJ: I’ll probably be writing or editing. That’s what I do.

About the Author:

C.J. Carter, a journalist, is a native of Sikeston, Mo. She is an alumnus of the University of Missouri School of Journalism. In 1978, shewas a founding staff member of Atlanta Business Chronicle where she worked for 18 years, serving as editor of the Chronicle and seven Chronicle special publications.

Carter is author of the 125-year history of Saint Joseph’s Hospital of Atlanta. She was an on-air reporter in Atlanta for WXIA-TV’s Noonday show for two years. She was editor of It’s For You: Thirty-One Years of Our Life on the Georgia Tech Campus, a book produced in conjunction with the Georgia Tech Foundation.

Blog: http://juniordragsterdreams.com

Facebook: The Read for Speed — http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Read-for-Speed/226191994077640

Thanks C. J. Carter for stopping by. You can learn more about C.J. at Kristi’s Book Nook.

