Author Exposed: Sherrill S. Cannon

Writers are taught to write what we know. Many authors dig deep to write stories about events in child hood, family history or perhaps things their kids or pets do. Sherrill S. Cannon is no different. Her award winning books are stories from her childhood told by family and stories she created for her own children. Her wonderful stories teach valuable lessons to young readers. Sherrill is sharing her writing path and some great tips. Please be sure to stop by Kristi’s Book Nook to see how she gets kids reading.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TNW: How long have you been writing?

SC: I have been writing since before I could write! (My mother used to write down my poems when I was 4 years old, and I had quite an extensive notebook until it was lost in one of our moves. Wish I’d had a computer and flash-drives back then!) I love to write. My friends and family ask me if I think in rhyme and meter, and I have to admit that sometimes this is true!

TNW: Have you always written for children?

SC: Most of my early writing was poetry. I love to experiment with all the styles and the various rhyme-schemes, especially sonnets. When I decided to write the story that my mother had told for many years to me and my brother and my children, because there was no written version, I decided to combine my love of poetry into writing that story for my children in rhyme. That is how Peter and the Whimper-Whineys came to be.

TNW: What drives and motivates your writing?

SC: I feel very strongly that children need to learn good manners and become considerate of others. I like to write stories that are fun to read, but that teach something at the same time. I guess once a teacher, always a teacher…

TNW: Do you feel it’s important for writers to use social media? How?

SC: Since most of the Small Press and Independent authors have little recourse to having marketing efforts made in their behalf by publishers, it is extremely useful and beneficial to make your friends..and then their friends…and then their friends’ friends… (you get the idea) aware of your books. Facebook and Twitter help a lot in this way, and Pinterest seems to be gaining in popularity as well, but it’s really difficult to keep up with them all. (I find this out every time I have a new book and have to update a lot more places than I remember joining!) A few other sites I find worth mentioning, that seem to work for me, are BookBuzzr, Red Room, Jacket Flap, Bookhitch, and SCWBI.

TNW: Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

SC: My favorite children’s author, without question, is Dr. Seuss. His rhyme and meter are impeccable (although sometimes he fudges a bit and makes up words to make rhymes!), he teaches without preaching, and furthermore he also can draw!! I also like Shel Silverstein, although not as well.

TNW: What writing books would you recommend to new writers?

SC: A Dictionary, a Thesaurus, and a copy of a Harbrace or similar book about grammar) LOL

TNW: What advice do you have for new writers?

SC: Try to determine your niche in the writing world – a place where you are comfortable and have something to say and to write about – and concentrate in that area.

TNW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

SC: Well, since I am already 72, I hope that I am still writing, and publishing the books I have already written – so please wish me good health and good luck!

We wish you the best of luck Sherrill. Thanks so much for sharing with us. Learn more about Sherrill at her sites.

Please check out my website if you have a chance, where I also have a blog, at www.sherrillcannon.com 

My Facebook Fan Page is http://tinyurl.com/Author-Sherrill-S-Cannon 

My Twitter Account is: @sherrillcannon.com 

My email address is: sherrillcannon@aol.com 

My Plays: http://www.lazybeescripts.co.uk

