Steve Karol: The Taste of Chocolate

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am proud to share some great news about a good friend. Steve Karol is a writer, poet and artist. He has finally finished his play “The Taste of Chocolate” a story of how chocolate is introduced to the New World. Steve, a chocolate lover himself, wanted to share a story of chocolate and its marvelous history.

When I spoke with Steve about his play he was very excited. He is doing a fund raiser for the Martha Lafite Thompson Nature Sanctuary. The play will be read by 11 actors playing 22 different characters on Thursday February 16th, at Belvoir Winery in Liberty, Missouri.

Interview

TNW: When did you first start writing?

SK: I originally started writing poetry in the 1980’s. When I first got inspired to write plays it was for children. It was in 1996 when I wrote my first play for the Sunday school kids at my church. The Taste of Chocolate however started as a children’s play. There was much more of the story to tell that’s not appropriate for children.

TNW: What motivates you when it comes to being creative with your writing or art?

SK: What motivates me is a desire to express myself. I want to inspire others to look at life in a different perspective.

TNW: What advice do you have for new writers?

SK: To new writers I say, write what you love. Write what you feel. Your writing should be as much a part of you as your eyes are to your soul.

TNW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

SK: My dream is to on the big screen, screen play by Steve Karol.

TNW: What’s coming down the pike for you next?

SK: The Taste of Chocolate was performed by children in 1997. It is now being performed by adults on February 16. It took 15 years for me to get it finished the way I saw it in my mind. I’m finally able to tell the full story! It is being done as reading theater during a fundraiser for Martha Lafite Thompson Nature Sanctuary. I have 5 more ideas on my list of stories to tell. Two of them are for children. I haven’t decided yet which one to pursue.

TNW: What are your thoughts on the new technology available to authors?

SK: As far askew technology I say go with the flow. 80% of what I read is on my IPhone.

Thanks so much Steve for sharing with us this week. I wish you the best of luck on your future endeavors.

To Learn More:

Kansas City Community News

Steve Karol Fine Art

2 comments on “Steve Karol: The Taste of Chocolate

  1. It’s a wonderful play. I had the pleasure of reading it a few years ago. It’s got chocolate and a little romance. Thanks for stopping by Jamie.

    Like

Comments are closed.