Goal Setting For 2012

My Django project in progress…

Image by kogakure via Flickr

It’s a new year. And it’s time to get busy on that project you’ve been putting off for a while now. Remember how much you love writing and want to share your story with others? There shouldn’t be anything holding you back. Publishing a book is easier now than ever. The Neophyte Writer is here to help you achieve your goal of bringing your project to life. I will offer tons of resources and links to help you become the writer you’ve longed to be. Not only that, I can assist you with finding editors, illustrators and cover designers to help you finish your project. I can even help you market your book to a target audience. It’s time for you to set achievable goals to keep you on task.

Start by setting your goals. Create a list of things you want to get done by the end of the year. Keep in mind that each goal you set should be something within your reach. It needs to be measured in a way you can see progress. Don’t get to crazy making a long list and then feeling overwhelmed by it in a months time. Be cautious and set goals that you can achieve in weekly or monthly bursts.

For example, every year I make a point to follow professionals who have been where I am. I read their updates and follow their sites. Most of them are staying in the loop of what’s happening in the world of writing and publishing. I also work on my writing skills. I am always working towards polishing a manuscript to make it the best it can be. This is an achievable task. Simply take an online course or read a book by an author who has been down the same road and has found success.

Each week I plan a writing schedule. I use Google Calendar to set reminders of what I will do each week. I have several projects going at once so I put together a schedule of which projects I will work on. Each day I get a reminder in my email telling me what I will work on and for how long. I like to take steps that keep me going slow and steady. The great thing about setting goals is that you can adjust them as you go.

As you move forward this year on your project you will be able to identify your troubled areas and the spots where you are making incredible progress. Adjust accordingly but keep moving forward. By the end of the year you will be ready to show off all of your hard work and effort.

Check out these links:

Writing World

Goal Setting Guide

Make A Living Writing

Top Achievement

Happy Writing!

2 comments on “Goal Setting For 2012

  1. Very helpful post – thanks

    I’m in the process of writing a book on goal setting and achievement myself – would appreciate you having a look and giving me any feedback… If you’d be kind enough to fill in the questionnaire there’ll be a free copy of the book for you when it’s published!

    Have a look here: smartgoalsetting.co

    All the best for achieving your goals in 2012!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.