Shana Gammon Author Exposed

Shana Gammon is an author who loves cats so much she has written a really funny book about one. But that’s not all she does, she is also an artist. Shana has stopped by to share her writing experience and some tips too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Neophyte Writer Interview:

How long have you been writing?

I started writing when I was in the fifth grade. That year I had a teacher who encouraged students to do a lot of creative writing. I really enjoyed it.

Have you always written for children?

Children’s literature is a genre I’m very comfortable with. I think that writing children’s literature allows the writer a certain freedom – almost an ability to be a child again.

What drives and motivates you?

My children have been a source of motivation for me. They were one of the main reasons why I wrote Marie’s Nine Lives.

What advice do you have for new writers?

I would encourage new writers to write for the fun of it and take time to determine what type(s) of writing they enjoy. If you enjoy writing it will reflect in what you write and you can truly connect with your audience.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I’m sure I’ll still be writing. What I’ll be writing – I have no idea. That’s the fun of it though.

Shana Gammon is the author and illustrator of Marie’s Nine Lives. She based the book on her cat Marie; a cat that she and her family rescued from an animal shelter. This is Shana’s second book for children. Her first children’s book, The Great State Cookbook, was published in 2003.

For more information about Marie’s Nine Lives, please visit the book’s website at: www.mariesninelives.blogspot.com. All booking inquiries should be sent to the publisher at: willowtreebooks@yahoo.com 

Thanks so much for stopping by Shana. For a chance to win a copy of Marie’s Nine Lives visit Kristi’s Book Nook.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments on “Shana Gammon Author Exposed

Comments are closed.