What Good Is Self Publishing?

Audience

 

If you’re wondering what benefit self publishing is to you, then you’ve asked a good question. Here’s the thing, your project is done and your ready to start selling. The only wait time is you preparing to upload it on a site or sites of your choosing, that’s it. Self publishing gives you control and on one else. Making more money with book sales has never been easier. Book distribution on various sites, gets your book to a designated audience.

If you just want to publish to share information, you can do that too. If you happen to make money while sharing your specific information, then self publishing is a win, win situation for you and your target audience. Feel free to give your information away. It’s totally up to you. Getting a book out for others to enjoy is ultimately what all authors long to do. Whether your book is a mystery, picture book or memoir, self publishing is the best way to get your quality information to the masses without having to wait on a publisher or agent to say when.

What good is self publishing to you? Feel free to share your thoughts.

 

2 comments on “What Good Is Self Publishing?

  1. Well said, Greg. I am a pro for self publishing. I am ready to take on the challenge. I since I am expected either way to self promote, I want to be able to get the profits and keep them for a job well done. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Self-publishing has a lot of appeal and advantages, but one of my concerns — shared by many, I’m sure — is, will I reach as large an audience as I could if I went the traditional publishing route? With all of the marketing, contacts, etc., placed squarely on the shoulders of the self-published author, it can be a daunting prospect to put your book out there and watch it die on the vine, even though you’ve done your best to promote it.

    Traditional publishing, of course, offers no guarantees, and traditional publishers these days expect authors to market themselves, so there’s something to be said for doing it all yourself. But traditional publishing at least carries the perception that your book will be picked up by more retailers and therefore reach a wider audience. (I’m thinking mainly of hard copy books, though I’m sure much of this perception also applies to e-books. A traditional publisher’s imprint can lend credibility to your book.)

    I’m not advocating traditional publishing over self-publishing; each has pros and cons. Authors should decide what suits their needs and interests.

    Like

Comments are closed.