Is Writing Fun?

Writing is My Hobby

Are you having fun writing or does it seem to be a chore?  

I love writing. I giggle every time I come up with a new idea and jot it down in my journal. I love talking about writing even when it annoys those around me who get to hear it all the time. Again, I giggle. I love reading about writing and learning about writing. I can’t get enough. Some of the information sticks and some rolls off when I get information overload. 

There are times when I feel overwhelmed with all of the information and the list of things I need to do. But, I just take a little break and venture out into the world, picking up more new information and eavesdropping on conversations, just in case I can use it in one of my projects (*giggle*). I do get tired sometimes, but like anything else we need to just take little breaks to get rejuvenated. 

If you are starting out down the road to writing and you are feeling overwhelmed, ask for help. You can find a writing buddy, take a class or join a writers group. If that doesn’t help ease your pain then perhaps writing isn’t for you. I have been writing and creating for a long time. It’s in my blood and literally in my genes. In my opinion, if you don’t eat sleep and drink writing you probably won’t write. 

What’s writing like for you?

7 comments on “Is Writing Fun?

  1. This was very inspiring. I love to write, but I do get frustrated when it’s not coming like I want it to (that darn sentence won’t say what I want as beautifully as I want it!). But I tend to be a perfectionist with high expectations, so that’s something I need to work on in writing and life.

    Blogging more has helped my writing. It keeps the juices flowing and allows me to be more creative and cover more ideas. My WIP can feel limiting from time to time, and having other writing avenues helps me.

    Thanks for the post. Always love stopping by your blog!

    Like

  2. Hi Andrea. For me, when I can’t think I get out into the world and it may take a few hours or even a few days, to get out of that bad spell. But it’s okay and I always give myself permission to take a break.

    Like

  3. Mostly, I love writing. I couldn’t live without it, I need that thinking and working out of ideas. But it can be frustrating when it doesn’t seem to be working.

    Like

  4. Thanks for stopping by Vicky. I feel that knowledge is power and we should never stop learning or experiencing anything.

    Like

  5. I’m with you on this one Kristi! I too devour as many books, articles, podcasts, workshops etc. on craft. It’s so great to put the things you learn into action and see the changes in your writing style as your craft knowledge increases.

    Like

  6. I love writing too! It just doesn’t seem like there are enough hours in the day sometimes especially when trying to balance it with the other things I love, like my family.

    Like

Comments are closed.