How To Write For The MG Reader

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Image by Colin ZHU via Flickr

 

 

I’m currently writing my first middle grade novel. So far it has been an interesting experience. I love my characters and it’s fun when I get into the groove of writing and the story seems to take over all by itself. I find that I wake up in the middle of the night to jot down notes and ideas to make my characters really come to life. Writing for a MG audience is not an easy task. Writing in general is not an easy task, but when you add youth to the mix and all the silly things they do it’s difficult to come up with the right mix of things to keep the readers attention and put the reader in a position to be able to relate to the characters feelings and actions.

I read an article by Margo Finke at Harold Underdown’s site that helped me stay focused and be more insightful to what works for that age group. The article Writing a Middle-grade Masterpiece Ain’t Easy!”has some excellent tips and links. To read more about writing for children, take a moment to visit the Harold Underdown site.

Happy Writing!

2 comments on “How To Write For The MG Reader

  1. Hi Billie Jo. I am just over 4000 words for my MG novel. I love the way its going and any tips I can get I will take in. It is tough creating good characters. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  2. Oddly enough I woke around 3am yesterday with an idea for a middle grade series. I have never written middle grade either but the ideas were so strong that I just had to give it a go. Upon googling MG tips, I came across the article you have posted and found it most useful. So now I am 2,000 words into a MG book in addition to finishing chapter 3 of my YA novel. It is going to be a long and busy summer. Thanks for the post.

    Like

Comments are closed.