Guest Post – 2011 WordCount Blogathon

I’d like to welcome Pavithra to the Neophyte Writer. Thanks for participating in the 2011 WordCount Blogathon.


Tell fellow writers a little about yourself and how you got started writing android applications.

I’m Pavithra. I’m a 23 year old software developer from Bangalore.

To tell you about myself, there are three things in my life that I do no matter what.

Read, code and write. Reading is a lifelong passion. I love libraries and bookstores. A total book fanatic. I write front end applications using javascript, html and css. I like to think I’m good at it and I’m pretty hooked into all things UI. Next comes writing. This has had to take a back seat in my life many times but I keep a journal and it is my constant source of solace.

About, android applications, I’m fascinated by Google and their un-ending stream of products. I love exploring these and thats how I started blogging in the first place. I also got myself a Nexus one phone and was even more taken in by the growing application repository. To combine my interest of finding new apps all the time and of writing, I started reviewing these apps.

Since you write about sitcoms on your blog Pavithra Kodmad’s Pages, have you ever considered writing a script for an idea you have for a sitcom?

Sitcoms are my guilty pleasure. I have to confess, I’m a raging serial watcher! But writing a script for one? Though i do love creating screenplays out of stories, that has been my extent. To continue innumerable episodes with the same characters and theme would require a different kind of commitment and resourcefulness I suppose!

How did you get started writing reviews for books?

Book Reviews are a kind of exercise for me. I read a book and collate my thoughts over it. I think about the characters and what the book is trying to convey. I look up words I don’t know and I try to learn grammar and style from it.  While buying books on line, I realized that book reviewers need not be qualified critics but normal people who love to read. i then joined a book review blog and have been trying to review every book I read ever since.

What is the one thing you love the most about writing and the one thing you hate most about writing?

I love the fact I’m so much more articulate, argumentative and sensible while writing. Speaking is something I detest. I was never good at it. Stage fear has plagued me ever since I can remember. I can express myself well while writing and I love it. 

The one thing I hate about writing is the editing part. Every time I edit my writings I find a dozen mistakes and always wish I was more perfect.

Are you currently working on any book projects of your own?

 My dream project is to publish a collection of short stories of my writing. These will all be pulled out of real experiences in my life that I write in my journal. Though I’m not actively working on it currently (what with blogging and social media) , I’d love to see it materialize some day.

Where do you see your writing career in 5 years?

In 5 years, my book would definitely be out and at least a handful of people would have read it and appreciated it. Other than this I want to continue blogging and build a niche for myself. As for money making out of writing, I haven’t made any concrete plans for that.

What advice would you give someone new to writing?

 Well, Not very long back, I too was new to writing. One thing that I have learned so far is, never to be intimidated by what is out there. if you strive hard enough, you can always find something new and interesting to write about and carve your own corner.

Who is your favorite author and why?

 My favorite author is Ruskin Bond. I was introduced to his writing very early in my life. His stories would appear on the sunday supplement of our newspaper and I would wait eagerly to read them. I’m drawn to his down to earth writing style. His stories and anecdotes are about average Indian people but they resonate with truth and sometimes even normal chores seem heroic in his stories!

What book are you reading right now?

Right now I’m doing a book reading challenge with the theme being India. In that interest, I’m reading a book called “Myth=Mithya” by Devdutt Pattnaik.He is by profession an expert in Indian mythology. It’s a book that provides an explanation on Indian legends and myths. A fascinating read, if you ask me. The explanations are very detailed and the logic behind the myths is explained very well. I’m learning a lot about my culture through this book!

Thanks,

Pavithra


7 comments on “Guest Post – 2011 WordCount Blogathon

  1. Great questions, Kristi, and very cool to learn more about you through this interview, Pavithra! I can so relate to feeling like I express myself better in writing and to the goal of having a book published in the next five years read by “a handful of people”. Plus my partner’s a BlackBerry app developer! Lots in common. I look forward to continued contact and blogging support after the Blogathon ends!

    Like

Comments are closed.