Are You Free Writing?

Writing

Image via Wikipedia

Often times if a writer get stuck and can’t put words on a blank page one resolution is to start free writing. Lots of writers find that free writing works and I am one of them. I have been sparked by the free writing bug many times and I’ve found that I write some of the best stuff when under pressure.

To get started you need a timer, a computer or pen and paper. Set your timer for 15 minutes. Begin writing about anything that comes to mind. Don’t correct spelling, don’t go back and rewrite. This has to be a raw writing session. It can be on any topic but if possible try to focus on your manuscript. Especially if it’s the reason your are stuck to begin with.

The hope is that when you’re done your brain is free and clear and you’re ready to get back to some real writing. So, are your free writing? I’d love to hear if it works for you.

19 comments on “Are You Free Writing?

  1. I should have done this , to practice writing in examinations. I find difficulty to directly write something at once, (if it is not pre-determined). First need to get a draft and then a final. The free writing should really help.

    Like

  2. I love your idea of free writing for a set period of time, like 15 minutes – I’ll try it next time I find myself stuck. Thanks šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Thanks Heather. It really does work and sometimes it’s helpful to do just for the practice.

    Like

  4. Excellent information Sonia. Thanks for stopping by. I will have to investigate 750words.com.

    Like

  5. I love free writing. I use 750words.com for my morning pages now. It’s a lot faster than longhand writing for me. It helps me keep up with the ideas running through my mind. I love it just as a brain drain and also when I’m working through an idea. I don’t have to worry about writing the story so much as when I’m writing my MIP. I can kick around ideas and talk to myself. “What if she…” That kind of thing. šŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Morning writing is a way of free writing. Unfortunately for me I end up morning writing around 3 am. Thanks for stopping by Ruthl.

    Like

  7. Hi, just found your blog through the WordPress tag for ‘writing’. I’ve just started a creative writing course at Open University (UK) and one thing suggested was to keep a ‘morning’ notebook. As soon as you can, after waking, you just write down anything and everything – with no editing. It’s a way of getting access to your unconscious mind that was active during sleep. I guess ‘morning’ writing is a kind of free writing too.

    Like

Comments are closed.