Become A Writing Community

Community

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve come across a lot of writers who are so busy writing that perfect novel that when they’re done the world has become a blur. When you ask them if they have started to build their online presence the look you get back is one of dismay. Sitting in a room typing away has become a safe haven for a lot of writers. The problem with only focusing on your own writing is that you don’t know what else is happening around you. In this new age of technology and self publishing writers need to be aware. Writers need to network. Writers need to become a part of a community.

The first step any writer who isn’t online should take is finding a critique group. I’ve discussed this in a post Critique Groups. Briefly, writers need to have another pair of eyes on their manuscript. It’s tough to share your work with strangers but it’s a first step in acquiring thick skin. It’s better to take a chance on a critique group than to get over a hundred rejection letters because your manuscript wasn’t ready or polished.

Consider creating a blog, website or join an online writing group. Connecting with other writers is a quick and easy way to get in touch with what’s been happening while you’ve been tucked away writing. Other writers can help you find publishers, agents, and share what they know about writing. It’s also a great way to make some new writing buddies and discuss your current writing project.

If your family and friends aren’t in the loop about what you’ve been up to, now is the time to fill them in. Share your writing experience with them. Share your manuscript with them. Prepare yourself for whatever feedback there might be positive or negative. Whatever opinion they provide it will most likely be given with honesty and love. Who knows, they may love it and really start supporting your efforts to getting it published.

Now is the time to take the first step to becoming a writing community. Get outside of yourself and your project. If you are shy, networking online is easy because you don’t have to look at or speak to anyone directly. You know how to type so get to it. Get online and make some new friends.

11 comments on “Become A Writing Community

  1. This is why I created #MyWANA. We are not alone (WANA). Writing is a solitary business and we need help and support. Platforms are tough to build and impossible to build alone. Also, thre is a lot of bad information out there about writing and social media, so I wanted a place where all the best information could be found. #MyWANA is more than a message board. It is a group of writing friends committed to teaming up and helping each other survive and thrive in the changing paradigm of publishing.

    Thanks, Kristi, for the great blog and I really hope you and commenters will plug into this wonderful community. Hey, it’s how I found your blog :D.

    Like

  2. Great ideas! Social networking can be a time suck, but it is also a wonderful tool. It’s about balance, for sure. I think telling my friends and family about my writing was the hardest step. Total strangers on the internet? No problem. My friends and family? Total nervous wreck. Everyone has been so supportive though, it was definitely a good move.

    Like

  3. Social Networking can suck you in that’s for sure. Apparently, there is a name for it. It’s starting to go around the web. I have to admit I chuckled a little when I heard about it. Thanks for stopping by Pam.

    Like

  4. You are absolutely right. My problem is that I find the social networking a lot more fun than the hard work of writing. I have to be very disciplined and make sure the writing comes FIRST. Thanks for all the great suggestions!

    Like

  5. I walked backwards into writing. I grew up loving writing and reading. I always had my nose in a book and was jotting down stories. My mom’s a published poet and quite the storyteller. It’s in my blood. But I wrote the novel and then joined writers’ groups. Crazy. We got a lot of input from writers’ groups once it was done, but I wish I would have had the community along the way, holding my hand (even if it was also forcing my hand to do rewrites). I also need to focus on WRITING… I get caught up in the business/marketing side of things (Business major, English minor – I make no sense).

    I love this blog for redirecting me to where I need to be. Kudos!!

    Like

  6. Hi Marvin: Thanks for stopping by. I know a lot of writers who have been in a corner and when they finally break out they are not sure what to do.

    Like

  7. Hi Kristi,

    You are “right on” about everything. Writing is a lonely profession. Why not break through the isolation and branch out to other writers. I joined a weekly writing group (no critiquing) about a month ago, and plan on joining a critique group once I get more of my WIP complete.

    Like

Comments are closed.