Writing With Author & Illustrator Erin Carter

I am pleased to feature self published author and illustrator Erin Carter. She has some wonderful writing tips for us.

How long have you been writing?

I first started drawing before I began writing, and prior to writing I told stories to my younger sisters. The story-telling process was an evolution in my youth, but not an easy one since reading and writing came much later in my childhood due to dyslexia. (I almost flunked two grades.)  The very first story I wrote was in the fourth grade and realized I could tell fun stories, however I started falling in love with writing by the seventh grade with the encouragement of my eccentric English teacher; God bless him.  It wasn’t until after college that I decided to make writing as one of my professions.

Have you always written for children?

No, and I really don’t write for children- as of yet.  “The Littlest Acorn” was a collaborated effort. My friend, Krystal Gamble-Brown, wrote the inspirational story, which I loved, and I simple drew the pictures.  I write essays and historical fiction.  My website, under my pen name, www.KPKollenborn.com, features my first novel which although is historical for adults, one of the strongest themes is about family.  Family is where true drama lies.

What drives and motivates you?

My insecurities drive me, (the search of perfection,) and wanting to leave a voice behind before I die motivates me.  It’s this inherent need of making a mark in this world that keeps me going.  Very much like raising children.

What advice do you have for new writers?

Keep writing.  Even when you feel you suck and you think there’s no other reason to write because the competition is too fierce, write anyway!  There’s a reason you have the drive to write and you can only get BETTER the more you read and write.  If the passion wasn’t there, you would be doing something else.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Having two novels under my belt and working on the third.  I already have a list of stories I want to write and in a certain order to write them.

Thanks Erin for sharing with us. To learn more about Erin please visit her site at www.KPKollenborn.com, and Kristi’s Book Nook and Get Kids To Read.

