Writing Tips From Author Nicole Weaver

Bilingual Author Nicole Weaver

This weeks featured author at the Neophyte Writer is Nicole Weaver. Nicole weaver was born in Port-au-Prince Haiti. She came to the United States when she was ten years old. She is fluent in Creole, French, Spanish and English. She is a veteran teacher of French and Spanish. She is the author of a children’s trilingual picture book titled ” Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle.” The story is about a Haitian little girl who resided by the beach in Haiti. Her second trilingual children’s picture book will be published by Guardian Angel Publishing. The book titled, ” My sister is my Best Friend ” will be published 2011.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing for five years now.

Have you always written for children?

No, I started out by writing poems. I won 1st place in a poetry contest sponsored by my local library. I later became very active in my church’s writing group. I had several poems published in the church’s journal.

What drives and motivates you?

I am driven by the desire to write quality books that promote the study of a foreign language. I am motivated when I get positive feedbacks from parents about my first trilingual book.

What advice do you have for new writers?

Never give up on your dreams to become a writer. Read as much as you can in the genre you want to write in.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
I will be retired from teaching and I will be able to write fulltime.

Marie And Her Friend The Sea Turtle

To learn more about Nicole Weaver please be sure to stop by her site at http://nicole-weaver.com/

She will also be featured at Get Kids To Read and Kristi’s Book Nook.

Thanks so much for stopping by Nicole and sharing with us.

2 comments on “Writing Tips From Author Nicole Weaver

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Writing Tips From Author Nicole Weaver | Kristi Bernard -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.