Brooks Olbrys Author Highlight

Brooks Olbrys is a writer who focuses his passion on protecting our oceans and seas. He creates books that give children new insight about the creatures that live there. Here is what he had to say:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How long have you been writing?

After coming across some old school work and journals recently, I realized I’ve been a writer since childhood. And in college, two graduate programs and law school, I wrote quite extensively on academic subjects. But I only began writing my current children’s picture book series, The Adventures of Blue Ocean Bob, a little over one year ago.

Have you always written for children?

Blue Ocean Bob Discovers His Purpose is my first children’s book.

What drives and motivates you?

I love studying the philosophies of achievement and success and I believe these concepts are what empowered me to be where I am today. I want to share this information with children because I know how powerful and life changing it can be. Every child has unlimited potential if they believe in themselves and never give up on their dreams.

What advice do you have for new writers?

If you have an idea that inspires you, start writing. The way will be shown, but you have to take the first step and put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard).

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Doing exactly what I am doing now, only on a bigger scale. Managing my investment bank and producing books, products and media for children inspired by principles of success and dedicated to building awareness of and respect for our oceans and sea life.

Thanks so much for sharing with us Brooks.

