Nadine Johnson – Author Highlight

Welcome everyone to the Neophyte Writer’s Author Highlight. This week I am featuring author Nadine Johnson, founder of 123 Mango Tree LLC where she promotes literacy through reading, music and art. Nadine’s new books I Love and I Am are being released January 2011. Please visit Kristi’s Book Nook to learn more about these two books.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had an opportunity to ask Nadine a few questions about being a writer:

NW: How long have you been writing?

NJ: My love for writing began during my college years—over 15 years ago. Writing poetry and stories helped me to cope with being away from home.

NW: Have you always written for children?

NJ: I started out writing poetry and adult fiction, which I still write sometimes. It wasn’t until the birth of my son six years ago that I started writing for children.

NW: What drives and motivates you?

NJ: My son motivates me to keep working. And my soul motivates me to keep teaching through my books.

NW: What advice do you have for new writers?

NJ: Write with purpose and passion and blaze your own trail.

NW: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

NJ: I hope that I’m more instrumental in giving children the gift of reading by working directly with them to improve their reading skills.

Thanks so much for sharing with us Nadine.

