The Three S’s of a Story

As a new writer I have discovered some of my own little tricks to get me started when I have a fresh story idea. I like to refer to my tricks as the 3 S’s. I don’t know if they will work for anyone else but they seem to help me at least get started with writing a children’s picture book or article.

Synopsis

Webster’s Dictionary: condensed statement or outline.

Once a story idea grabs me by the ankles and shakes me around a bit I like to come up with a synopsis. I think about the idea and what I might put on the back cover.  You know, that thing that gets a potential reader to want to buy it. I always read the covers of books before I buy them.

Structure

Webster’s Dictionary: arrangement of elements.

I use structure to help me create the outline of my story idea. Structure helps me stay focused on my story. Structure is creating a plot, then moving onto the beginning, middle and end of the story idea.  I give myself as much detail about the story as possible and then I start writing.

Shape

Webster’s Dictionary: Distinct appearance or arrangement of parts.

Finally, I can shape the story into something interesting and fun.  I get everything typed, polished and ready for critique. My story idea has now been brought to life and ready to share.

2 comments on “The Three S’s of a Story

Comments are closed.